Nearly 140m long, Hang Thiec is located inside the Old Quarter and still retains some vestiges of old architecture. Hang Thiec has been in existence since ancient times so it is a very narrow road and some houses were removed later to expand the street
Most of the houses still on this street are in the old “matchbox” style with beams made from ironwood and small mezzanine roofs are gutters that drain rainwater into a tank in the yard below. The houses are built on low ground that can flood for several days after very heavy rains, creating high humidity. Households on this street only got eletricity in 1920 and, until about 1924, people transferred water to their homes by workers who were hired to carry it in buckets on bamboo shoulder poles.
Hang Thiec is the street of tinsmiths who came from Phu Thu village in the Hoai Duc distreict of Hanoi and specialised in casting tin lamps let with peanut oil, candles, incense burners, teapots and tin trays for tea set, as wll as tea cannisters and the tips for conical hats. Later, when tin working was no longer in fashion, people began working with iron so the French called it the Rue des Ferblantiers, the street of blacksmiths.
Hang Thiec is one of the few streets that has retained its traditional occupations and today there are still many workshops producing objects made of stainless steel or iron. All day long you can hear the tapping of hammers beating iron into a variety of goods that are sold hanging in the stalls in front of the houses.
- Hang Bo Street ( Bamboo Basket Street)
- Bat Dan Street ( Porcelain Bowl Street)
- Hang Bong Street ( Cotton Street)
- Hang Dieu Street ( Tobacco Pipe Street)
- Hang Cot Street (Bamboo Lattice Street)
- Hang Vai Street (Fabric Street )
- Hang Dong Street (Copper Street)
- Hang Ruoi Street ( Sand Worm Street)
- Hang Da Street ( Leather Street)
- Hang Ga Street ( Chicken Street)