Hang Hom is 120 meters long. In the mid-19th century, skilled woodworkers from Ha Vi village ( now in the Thuong Tin district of Hanoi) came to settle in the capital and set up shops to sell their wares
Initially they produced black painted trunks for clothing and chests for storing papers, then later produced lacquerware and unrefined black, red and brown Vietnamese lacquer paint. They also created long wooden panels engraved with “ parallel words and sentences”, altars, and small boxes for betel and areca. More than half the households on the street were engaged in producing trunks, but several also produced lacquerware.
The communal house established by the people from Ha Vi village to worship Tran Lu, the ancestor of laccquer painting, is at No.11 on this street and the people from Ha Vi still worship there today. A festival is held annually in February of the lunar calendar and the god’s palanquin is paraded along the street.
On the day of the festival, people from Ha Vi village in the distant Thuong Tin district come into the center of Hanoi bringing offerrings to be blessed at the temple and then taken back to the village at the end of the festival as gift for their children from the ancestor Tran Lu.
Hang Hom was ruined during the fierce battles at the end of 1946 and beginning of 1947 when the French cannons destroyed almost all the houses. It was rebuilt with tall, large modern buildings between 1947 and 1954.
Today there are several stores selling different type of paint along with some souvenir shops, hotel and tourist offices.
- Hang Manh Street ( Bamboo Blinds Street)
- Hang Non Street ( Conical Hat Street)
- Hang Thiec Street ( Tin Street)
- Hang Bo Street ( Bamboo Basket Street)
- Bat Dan Street ( Porcelain Bowl Street)
- Hang Bong Street ( Cotton Street)
- Hang Dieu Street ( Tobacco Pipe Street)
- Hang Cot Street (Bamboo Lattice Street)
- Hang Vai Street (Fabric Street )
- Hang Dong Street (Copper Street)