Hang Giay Street is 270 meters long. Before 1915 it had no sidewalks and the road surface was made of gravel: there were no trees and it looked more like a suburban landscape with thatch roofed house mixed in with brick house with metal roofs
Only a few houses on the street had tile roofs. There were some milti-storey houses but the were built in the “matchbox” style with the storeys overlapping each other and their facades aligned unevenly along the road, some jutting out and others receding from it. The people who lived on this street were government servants or employees who were will educated and lived quite conservatively.
There were very few grand buildings and the shops sold primarily ink brushes, paper, tissue paper made from the bark of the thymelaeaceous plant, and quill pens. Some households made cande and there were also several shops trading in Chines medicinal herbs.
Hang Giay was gradually rebuilt after 1925 with many elegant, tall buidings in the Western architactuaral style and rich traders moved into the street. The large Hoa Nam Hotel was built in 1938 and later became the Bac Do Cinema, which has dince closed.
Today there are many small shops on the street selling a variety of goods including clothing and other commodities.
- Hang Khoai Street (Potato Street)
- Hang Dau Street (Bean Street)
- Hang Gai Street ( Ramie Street)
- Hang Quat Street (Fan Street)
- Hang Hom Street ( Trunk Street)
- Hang Manh Street ( Bamboo Blinds Street)
- Hang Non Street ( Conical Hat Street)
- Hang Thiec Street ( Tin Street)
- Hang Bo Street ( Bamboo Basket Street)
- Bat Dan Street ( Porcelain Bowl Street)