Hang Duong Street is 180 metres long and was created between the late Le dynasty ( 1533-1788) and the Nguyen dynasty ( 1802-1945). It features products made from cane sugar and molasses and many types of cakes and sweets are produced here.
Traces of the old villages remain in the temples, for example house No 19B is located on the site of the former Vinh Hanh communal house. The Duc Mon communal house is now house No.38 where Ngo Van Long, a famous general under the 18th Hung king, is worshipped ( the 18th Hung king is whorshipped at the Ham Long Temple on Ham Long street along with highest-ranking royal mandarin Tran Thu Do ( 1194-1264) – an outstanding politician, and his wife.) The former Dong Mong pagoda ( often called the Cau Dong pagoda) is now house No. 38B, Hang Duong, where a number of ancient steles engraved with the history of the location and the temple construction are still priserved. There is also a bell with the inscription “ Dong Mon Tu Chung” ( Bell of the Dong Mong pagoda) cast during the Tay Son dynasty in 1800.
Hang Duong is now where Ha Thanh sour and sweet dried fruit jams, a culinary specialty of Hanoi, are made. These jams are made from many different types of dried fruit such as apricots, plums, stamarind, peaches, tangerines, star fruits, mangoes, and jackfruit. Some jams are somewhat salty while others are sweet; some even combine sour, sweet, bitter and salty tastes. Anyone who has ever tasted Ha Thanh fruit jams will certainly never forget them. The most famous jam shops are Hong Lam’s at No.11. Tien Thinh ( No.21) .
- Hang Buom Street (Sails Street)
- Ta Hien Street
- Hang Giay Street (Shoe Street)
- Hang Bac Street (Silver Street)
- Ma May Street (Rattan Street)
- Ngo Gach Street (Brick Street)
- Hang Chieu Street (Sedge Mat Street)
- Hang Giay Street (Paper Street)
- Hang Khoai Street (Potato Street)
- Hang Dau Street (Bean Street)