Today Hang Dong is nearly 130 metres long and run north to south between Hang Ruoi and Bat Su Street. As mentioned previously, the French merged it with Bat Su and called it Rue des Tasses ( Hang Chen).
After the August Revolution in 1945 it was again divided into two streets. In the past, this street was the home of immigrants from Cau Nom village in Hung Yen province who came to the capital to practice their traditional craft as coppersmiths. Almost all the household on Hang Dong opened shop selling copper wares such as trays, pots, incense bowls, vases, and animal statues, particularly cranes.
These were made as souvenirs for Vietnamese people as well as foreigners and, in the time of the French, they were popular items sold at fairs.
Hang Dong Street now sells not only copper objects. Along with the copper items, the mechanic workshops and stores on this street also manufacture and sell new iron objects such as balustrades, hand rails, copper signboards, and different types of doors. There are also a number of shops selling Phuc Loc Tho porcelain and other commodities imported from Taiwan, China.