Hang Dau ( 272 metres long) was where, in the past, many people in the Red River Delta and surrounding areas had shops selling all kinds of beans ( green beans, soybeans, black beans, etc) and products such as tofu and bean sprouts
Today people no longer sell beans on Hang Dau Street; they have switched to a wide variety of products things including automobile parts, motorcycles, and mobile phones, as well as pet fish and aquriums.
In the French colonial period, Hang Dau was called “ the Street of Frains” ( Rue des Grains) but the revolutionary government restored the old name of Hang Dau after the 1945 August Revolution
At the beginning of the street where Han gDau intersects with Nguyen Thiep there was once a city gate called Phuc Lam, or Hang Dau, Gate which was renamed Tien Trung City Gate by the mid-19 century, but no trace of it remains today.
There was also a famous school on Hang Dau in the late 19th century called the Cuc Hien School, after, the patriotic intellectual Confucian Doctor Cuc Hien, also known as Le Dinh Duyen ( 18819-1878). The school’s façade has now been converted into a shop at No. 39 Hang Dau
There are a few buildings not actually located on Hang Dau, but their names are associated with it, such as the Hang Dao Police headquarters, the Hang Dau water tower and the Hang Dau Flower Garden.
In the past, the Hang Dau and Hang Trong police were the largest police forces in Ha Noi.
Hang Dau Warter Tower was built in 1894. The main construction materials for this tower were stones from the ruined Ha Noi Citadel. It looks like a great three storey cylindrical fortress 19 metres in diameter and 25 metres high. The foof is made from iron and resembles a large pyramid. There are gothic style windows cut around the tower body that look like button loops.
The interior of the tower is divided into many sections separated by thich stone walls. In each wall there is a large opening that functioned as a door so people could go from one part of the tower to another. Each section of the tower contains numerous 1,250 cubic metre iron water tanks. Water was transported from the tower directly to the Hanoi Citadel where the French colonial army was camped. The water tower ceased to be used in 1954.
“ Hang Dau Flower Garden ( now Van Xuan Flower Garden) is a large park with fountains and many trees. Nowadays, the vendors at the Hang Luoc flower market often bring flowers and bonsai trees here to sell during the lunar New Year Hodiday ( Tet) with creates a special beauty in Hanoi.
- Hang Gai Street ( Ramie Street)
- Hang Quat Street (Fan Street)
- Hang Hom Street ( Trunk Street)
- Hang Manh Street ( Bamboo Blinds Street)
- Hang Non Street ( Conical Hat Street)
- Hang Thiec Street ( Tin Street)
- Hang Bo Street ( Bamboo Basket Street)
- Bat Dan Street ( Porcelain Bowl Street)
- Hang Bong Street ( Cotton Street)
- Hang Dieu Street ( Tobacco Pipe Street)