During the Nguyen dynasty ( 1802 – 1945 ), traders brought raw fuffalo and ox hides to Yen Thai alley to be tanned into leather and made into various products which were sold at the Hang Da Market
At that time there were only a few stalls in the grounds of Hang Da and it looked more like s small village market. From 1937 – 1938 a new market was built specifically for leather goods which were sold not only in the market, but also along the street and since that time, both the street and the market have been called Hang Da.
Before it was known as Hang Da, this street was commonly called “ Fortunetellers Street’’ because many fortunetellers used to gather in front of the Tam Thanh Temple, the other name of the now at the Vu Du communal House (No.40) to tell fortunes for visitors to the temple. In the early 20th centure, the city government renamed the streets and called it the “Rue des Cuirs’ ( Street of Leather)
Hang Da actually had no processing workshops or retail vnues like Hang Dieu or Ha Trung. Wealthy people lived here who owned workshops and warehouses in the suburbs that dealt with animal skins tanned on site or imported from the Thuy Khe Tanning Factory near West Lake or from French companies. The primary buyers of this leather made sandals, handbags and suitcases on other streets.
Now a range of things are sold on Hang Da Street including electric appliances, fruit, clothing, posters and leather goods.