Both Hang Cot and Hang Ga are part of the same ancient road. Hang Cot got its name from the bamboo lattice screens that were produced and traded here in the late 19th and early 20th centuries but no longer exist here today
. Under the French it was called Rue de Takou and was given its current name after 1945.
The Ngu Giap communal house is at No.54 Hang Cot and Phap Bao Tang pagoda is No. 44. it was built between 1948 and 1954 and is where buddhist wooden scriptures were kept.
Hang Cot was expanded in the 1930s and 1940s and is now 400 metres long with many modern style buildings. The tramway from Kim Lien to Yen Phu was established in 1935 and passed along Hang Ga and Hang Cot streets on the route to Hang Than
Now Hang Cot Street has no particular speciality but is home to a number of small hotels and shops selling a variety of necessities such as garments and coffee
- Hang Vai Street (Fabric Street )
- Hang Dong Street (Copper Street)
- Hang Ruoi Street ( Sand Worm Street)
- Hang Da Street ( Leather Street)
- Hang Ga Street ( Chicken Street)
- Lo Ren Street ( Blacksmith Street)
- Hang Ca Street ( Fish Street)
- Thuoc Bac Street ( Chinese Herb Street )
- Hang Luoc ( Comps Street )
- Hang Can Street (Scale Street)